Eleven Days…

A lot can happen in eleven days. So many emotions, so many thoughts. I sit writing and for the first time since I’ve started this blog, I don’t know what to say. It isn’t for the lack of words or lack of issues to speak about but as a student of life, I try to study, observe, and grow from all that I’m exposed to.

In the past eleven days, terror, unrest, pain, death, and confusion has overshadowed the world. I’ve watched videos of men murdered. I’ve watched hundreds of people in other nations die as a result of attacks. Police, the authority to help govern our streets and communities, I’ve watched be attacked by ill-passion driven fools. In the past few days, we’ve seen a military attempt to overthrow their government oversees, and so much more that wasn’t reported.

It’s been a lot. I’ve had much time to think, reflect, and come to terms with some things. It really helped put some things in perspective even in my personal life. You try to salvage what little friendships you can with certain people. No matter how bad a fire is, how wrecked a car is…we do our best to restore if possible. Welp, I’ve done just that. And I found that not only wasn’t it mutual, seemed to be more annoying, bothersome, and I’d pretty much become like that Steve Urkle from the sitcom, “Family Matters.”

In eleven days, no calls, no texts, no messages. In eleven days, I came across more content between Grey and I than the entire time we were in love. Random people brought her up in random conversations, and though she was vaguely on my mind…her absence and silence was a constant reminder of the love loss. In eleven days, I realized just how little “friendship” meant. I’m learning to be mature enough to handle pain properly now. I don’t need a person to tell me how much they don’t love me anymore a million different ways for me to get it. I got it. …And I think I’m starting to be okay with it.

The world is growing cold. Hearts are becoming more vile and evil as the day goes on. BE A LIGHT and LOVE someone else. When you find that you’re so detached where another is happy without your presence….remove yourself and be content with never returning. Love them enough to let them be happy…and love you enough to let your heart get over them.

Eleven days taught me to value life. Value presence. I’ve learned to have a heart to those that want it and to love where love is needed.

That’s all I have.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

